Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Is there any Halal Beer??

In Kuala Lumpur, the distributor of an Iranian halal non-alcoholic “beer” said that it had never used the term “beer” on their product.

Malaysian Iranian Corporation Sdn Bhd executive director Azizi Ahmad said his company realised that Muslims might be concerned about the term “beer” on the Iranian-made drink called Istak.

“Istak is actually a malt drink, which had received the halal certification from the Iranian government 10 years ago,” he told Utusan Malaysia.

He added that Iran was known to impose strict halal regulations on commercial products.

The paper had published concerns from several Islamic NGOs who disagreed with the usage of the term “beer” on the drink.

Azizi said his company had never issued brochures saying that the Istak drink was a “halal beer,” adding that he would contact the NGOs to clarify the matter.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...