Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Malaysian Cabinet lineup, announced 15th May 2013

PUTRAJAYA, 15th May 2013: Prime Minister Najib Razak on Wednesday, 15th May 2013 unveiled a cabinet to drive through his ambitious economic and political transformation agenda.

He said the cabinet included a mix of technocrats and civil society representatives, who bring valuable experience from outside government, as well as experienced ministers and younger faces.

The cabinet also draws on Malaysia's diverse ethnic communities, he said.

New faces include: Paul Low, anti-corruption campaigner and President of Transparency International (Malaysia), will be a Minister in the Prime Minister's Department. P. Waytha Moorthy, human rights activist and Chairman of HINDRAF, an NGO that campaigns for equal rights for Malaysian Indians, will be a Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department.

Abdul Wahid Omar, President and CEO of Maybank, one of Southeast Asia's top 5 banks that serves 22 million customers, will be a Minister in the Prime Minister's Department.

Khairy Jamaluddin, the 37 year-old MP re-elected MP for Rembau with a tripled majority of over 18,000 votes, will be Minister for Youth & Sports.

Abdul Rahman Dahlan, MP for Kota Belud in Sabah, will lead the new Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing & Local Government.

Infact 6 Ministers and 4 Deputy Ministers are from Sabah, the highest in the Malaysian history.

“The new cabinet will be responsible for delivering transformation in Malaysia and continuing the economic and political reforms that began four years ago.

“The new ministers bring both the measured calm of experience, and the vibrant energy of new ideas; a grounding in anti-corruption and human rights law, and an appreciation for the dynamism of the private sector.

“Over the past months and years, divisions have opened up in Malaysian society. Now it is time for all of us, in government and beyond, to put the bitterness behind us, and work towards national reconciliation and national unity.

“It is in that spirit that I have asked these men and women to serve, not just as ministers, but as a unity Cabinet. Together we will act to bring about national reconciliation, secure Malaysia's economic future, and build a stronger, more harmonious society,” he said.

The new line-up of Ministers and Deputy Ministers:

*Prime Minister: Najib Razak (UMNO)

*Deputy Prime Minister: Muhyiddin Yassin (UMNO)

Prime Minister's Department:


Joseph Kurup of Sabah

Jamil Khir Baharom (UMNO), 2. Abdul Wahid Omar (Senator), 3. Idris Jala (senator); 4. Joseph Kurup (PBRS), 5. Shahidan Kassim (UMNO), 6. Nancy Shukri (PBB), 7. Paul Low Seng Kwan (senator), 8. Joseph Entulu Belaun (PRS)

Deputy Ministers: 1. Razali Ibrahim (UMNO); 2. Waytha Moorthy Ponnusamy (Senator)

*Ministry of Finance:

Minister of Finance 1: Najib Razak (UMNO)

Minister of Finance 2: Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah (UMNO)

Deputy Minister of Finance

Ahmad Maslan (UMNO)

Ministry of Transport:

Minister: (Acting post being held open pending MCA decision) Hishammuddin Hussein (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Ab Aziz Kaprawi (UMNO)

*Ministry of Defence

Hishammuddin Hussein (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Abdul Rahim Bakri (UMNO)

*Ministry of Home Affairs:

Minister: Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (PBB)

*Ministry of Education & Higher Learning

Minister 1: Muhyiddin Yassin (UMNO)

Minister 2: Idris Jusoh (UMNO)

Deputy Minister 1: Mary Yap Kain Ching (PBS)

Deputy Minister 2: P. Kamalanathan (MIC)

*Ministry of Works:

Minister: Fadillah Yusof (PBB)

Deputy Minister: Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin (UMNO)

*Ministry of International Trade & Industry

Minister: Mustapa Mohamed (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Hamim Samuri (UMNO)

*Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Minister: Anifah Aman (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Hamzah Zainuddin

*Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism

Minister: Hasan Malek (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Ahmad Bashah Mohamad Hanipah (Senator)

*Ministry of Communication & Multimedia

Minister: Ahmad Shabery Cheek (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Jailani Johari (UMNO)

*Ministry of Human Resources

Minister: Richard Riot Jaem (SUPP)

Deputy Minister: Ismail Abdul Muttalib (UMNO)

*Ministry of Rural & Regional Development

Minister: Shafie Apdal (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Alexander Nanta Linggi (PBB)

*Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing & Local Government

Minister: Abdul Rahman Dahlan (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Halimah Mohamad Saddique (UMNO)

*Ministry of Youth & Sport

Minister: Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: M. Saravanan (MIC)

*Ministry of Health

Minister: S. Subramaniam (MIC)

Deputy Minister: Hilmi Yahaya (UMNO)

*Ministry of the Federal Territories

Minister: Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: J. Loga Bala Mohan (Senator)

*Ministry of Plantation Industries & Commodities

Minister: Douglas Uggah Embas (PBB)

Deputy Minister: Noriah Kasnon (UMNO)

*Miistry of Energy, Green Technology & Water

Minister: Maximus Johnity Ongkili (PBS)

Deputy Minister: Mahdzir Khalid (UMNO)

*Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry

Minister: Ismail Sabri Yaakob (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (UMNO)

*Ministry of Tourism & Culture

Minister: Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz (UMNO)

Deputy Minister: Joseph Salang Gandum (PRS)

*Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation

Minister: Ewon Ebin (UPKO)

Deputy Minister: Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah (UMNO)

*Ministry of Natural Resources & Environment

Minister: G. Palanivel (MIC)

Deputy Minister: James Dawos Mamit (PBB)

*Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development

Minister: Rohani Abdul Karim (PBB)

Deputy Minister: Azizah Mohamad Dun (UMNO)

Ministers: 30

Deputy Ministers: 27

Total: 57

Total ministries: 24

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...