Saturday, July 30, 2011

Full ministerial post for MIC president, Datuk G. Palanivel

Malaysian Indian Congress, MIC president Datuk G. Palanivel will be made Minister in the Prime Minister's Department.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak made the announcement during the MIC 65th general assembly on Saturday, 30th July 2011.

Palanivel is currently Deputy Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister.

Najib said Palanivel would be sworn in after receiving consent from the Yang DiPertuan Agong.

He said the appointment was part of Barisan Nasional's commitment towards increasing the voice of the Indian community in the cabinet through MIC.

On 6 December 2010, Datuk G. Palanivel was appointed as 8th MIC President succeeding Datuk Seri S Samy Vellu who held the post for 31 years.

With this announcement, the MIC now has 2 full ministers in the Federal Cabinet. Another is Datuk Dr S Subramaniam, the Human Resources minister.

Currently there are 5 Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department, namely Gerakan President, Senator Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, Sarawakian Datuk Seri Idris Jala, Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz and Datuk Jamil Khir Baharom.

With the addition of Datuk G Palanivel as new Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, the number of Ministers in that Portfolio is 6, the highest among all Ministries in the Malaysian Federal Cabinet.

Anyway congratulations to Datuk Palanivel and MIC.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...